Banner with burgee 2023 v2

A windy forecast kept a number of visiting soloists away but there were 8 visitors and 15 club boats entered for this the fifth Vintage Championship at this club, again well supported by Rooster Sailing. They were greeted with plenty of sunshine and a brisk northeasterly offshore wind.

After the usual bacon butties , coffee and tea, and a briefing by the Race Officer Steve Corbet the fleet launched sped away to the committee boat. A brief respite whilst the trapezoid shaped course was laid the first race got underway. A 3 minute count down confused many boats on a shortish line all returned and as the wind shifted the pin end was favoured. Rodger Smith got the jump at the start and led by a good distance at the first windward buoy. Current champion Ewan Birkin-Wallis and past champion Dave Goudie were hot on his heels. Smith lost his way after the leeward mark which led to Birkin-Wallis gaining the lead which he extended and held until the finish. Cass Monk worked his way through the fleet but couldn’t catch Goudie who kept second place. The wind gradually increased throughout the race and all boats held together and all finished.

The second race was started in a similar fashion and past champion Jonny Wells led around the windward mark followed closely by Nigel Pybus, Birkin-Wall, Goudie, Monk. Pybus gained the lead, however hardening up after the last leeward mark his starboard stay broke leaving Birkin-Wallis to take another win followed closely by Wells and Monk.

The tide had just turned at the start of the third and final race with the wind further increasing saw many having a taste of the Thames estuary. A lumpy seaway couldn’t stop Wells again and led away down the first broad reach. Followed very closely by a gaggle of five boats. Goudie got caught out by a vicious gust on the run and then there were four. The wind increased yet again which saw many retirements and the race was shortened to two rounds. Monk worked his way to the top and got his first win in an event. Ewan Birkin-Wallis was second and Wells third.

Sparkling conditions which most enjoyed and all returned safely to the clubhouse for food and drinks and the prizegiving.

The prizegiving was introduced by Class Captain, Russel Trudgett who thanked everyone for coming and enjoying the racing. The NSCA provided the first three winners prizes and Rooster Sailing provided the other valuable prizes which were handed out by the current Commodore, Robin Tothill who sailed in Solo 3958 to the following :-

Oldest boat : 3552 Phil Dowsett LSC

Furthest traveled: 3847 Mike Barnes , Lagos YC, Kenya (RYA)

5th Overall : 3787 Mike Izatt, Blackwater SC, 10 points

4th Overall : 4040 Dave Goudie, Grafham SC, 6 points

3rd Overall : 3903 Jonny Wells, Essex YC, 5 points

2nd Overall : 3983 Cass Monk, Essex YC, 4 points

1st Overall and the NSCA Championship Trophy : 4206 Ewan Birkin-Wallis, Grafham SC, 2 points


Ewan Birkin-Wallis again thanked the club for holding the event and all the members who made it possible and hoped to see many more next year.

Colin Walker (4023)

LSC Solo Vintage Championship 2023 Results.pdf