Banner with burgee 2023 v2

A breezy but brilliantly sunny morning greeted all 19 entries to this years Solo Class open meeting which forms part of the Eastern Area travelers events. The prizes were supported by Rooster Sailing.

Local entries were down from Saturdays Vintage Championship, after many had aching legs, backs and so forth. However, 10 visitors were welcomed. After the customary bacon butties, tea & coffee and a briefing by the Race Officer, Steve Corbet the fleet set off in perfect conditions. A trapezoidal course was set similar to the previous days racing and a keen northeasterly breeze kept the sailors on their toes, (so to speak). Again, many testing the taste of the Thames estuary!

All the new boats quickly showed their speed and drew away from the older ones in race 1 .  Jonny Wells (5597) led at the top mark first time, however such is the competitiveness of the fleet by the end of round one Jonathan Swain (6055) had established a close lead. Steve Ede (6045) and Jarvis Simpson (6016) both old hands were close in second and third spot respectively.

In the second race again Swain took the lead and was ahead until the bottom mark when his halyard broke ending his days racing. Tim Lewis (6010) showed his class in his newly acquired boat and after some very close racing in the increasingly shifting breeze led home the fleet. Ede managed second place with Wells in third position. Fourth place went to Cass Monk (3983), in a 20 + year old boat.

All to play for in the final race of the day as the breeze now kicked up a good chop as the tide had turned. A committee boat start was won by Ede. With the increasing offshore wind now shifting back and forth, 30 degrees at times, the top boats had a close thrilling race, especially on the downwind legs. At the end of the shortened course, it was Ede who led home followed by Lewis and Simpson to take home the Open Meeting trophy for the second time.

The fleet returned to the shore exhausted but had a great day racing in fabulous conditions.

After racing food was provided courtesy of the club following the prizegiving as one or two visitors had to get away quickly.

The prizegiving was introduced by Class Captain Russel Tredgett (3886) who thanked all the visitors for their support in coming to the LSC and Rooster Sailing for their prize support. He handed over the presentation to Commodore Robin Tothill (3958). The results being :-

3rd Place : Jarvis Simpson, Brightlingsea SC, (6016), 6 points

2nd Place : Tim Lewis, RYA, (6010), 3 points

1st Overall and the Open Meeting Trophy winner, Steve Ede, Ardleigh SC, (6045) 3 points [last race]


Steve Ede thanked all the members involved in the management of the event and looked forward to returning next year.

Colin Walker (4023)

Solo Open 2023_results.pdf